The official conference program is now available (final version)

We have had a number of cancellations due to the grounding of airplanes in Europe. Conference updates will be available at the registration desk.

Twitter: The hash tag for this year's Console-ing Passions is #CPUO

Presentation Media & Setup:
Please arrive at your presentation room 15 minutes in advance of start time to set up your media. We suggest that you bring your presentation on a jump drive... More

We hope you will join us for the 2010 Console-ing Passions conference to be held at the University of Oregon from 22-24 April, 2010.

Deady Hall at the University of Oregon

Console-ing Passions was founded in 1989 by a group of feminist media scholars and artists looking to create a space to present work and foster scholarship on issues of television, culture, and identity, with an emphasis on gender and sexuality. The original board included Julie D'Acci, Jane Feuer, Mary Beth Haralovich, Lauren Rabinowitz, and Lynn Spigel. Console-ing Passions is not a membership organization, but is instead comprised of a board of scholars whose interests converge around the study of media.

Since the organization's founding, Console-ing Passions conferences have provided lively and enthusiastic forums for discussing work from a wide range of perspectives. The conferences have retained a focus on feminism, encouraging research on race and ethnicity, post-colonialism, queer studies, globalization, national identity, new media, and related topics. Television and digital media form the conference's organizing core, since film and print media are served by a variety of other organizations. Console-ing Passions' focus on the relationships between media and gender/sexuality in particular has reflected both the historical development of media in separate spheres (public vs. domestic) and the concern among feminists to study the gender dynamics involved in the production and consumption of media.

CP UO is grateful for the following support...

  • UO:
    • College of Arts and Science Program Grant
    • Center for the Study of Women and Society
    • ASUO Women’s Center
    • Department of English
    • School of Journalism and Communication
    • Ethnic Studies
    • Women’s and Gender Studies
    • School of Architecture and Allied Arts
  • DeMontfort University
  • Tulane University
  • University of Arizona School of Media Arts
  • University of California-Santa Barbara
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Console-ing Passions Board Members

  • Jackie Cook, University of South Australia
  • Mary Desjardins, Dartmouth College
  • Anna Everett, Univeristy of California, Santa Barbara
  • Jane Feuer, University of Pittsburgh
  • Joy Van Fuqua, Queens College, CUNY
  • Mary Beth Haralovich, University of Arizona
  • Heather Hendershot, Queens College, CUNY
  • Michele Hilmes, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Elana Levine, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
  • Vicki Mayer, Tulane University
  • Margaret Montgomerie, De Montfort University
  • Lisa Nakamura, University of Illinois, Urbana
  • Lisa Parks, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Carol Stabile, University of Oregon
  • Mimi White, Northwestern University

Console-ing Passions University of Oregon Graduate Student Volunteers

  • Drew Beard
  • Lauren Bratslavsky
  • Chelsea Bullock
  • Sonia de la Cruz
  • Mary Erickson
  • Tiffany Kinney
  • Laura Mangano
  • Alina Padilla-Miller
  • Bryce Peake
  • Sarah Prindle
  • Stephen Rust
  • Jenée Wilde

Previous Conferences

  • 1992, University of Iowa (Lauren Rabinovitz)
  • 1993, University of Southern California (Lynn Spigel)
  • 1994, University of Arizona (Mary Beth Haralovich, School of Media Arts)
  • 1995, University of Washington (Susan Jeffords)
  • 1996, University of Wisconsin, Madison (Julie D'Acci)
  • 1997, Concordia University, Montreal (Chantal Nadeau)
  • 1998, University of Sydney, Australia (Virginia Nightingale)
  • 2000, Notre Dame University, Indiana (Hillary Radner)
  • 2001, University of Bristol, UK (Janet Thumim)
  • 2004, Tulane University, New Orleans (Joy Fuqua and Vicki Mayer, Department of Communication)
  • 2006, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (Elana Levine and Carol Stabile, Department of Journalism and Mass Communication)
  • 2008, UC Santa Barbara (Anna Everett and Lisa Parks)
  • 2010, University of Oregon (Priscilla Peña Ovalle and Carol Stabile, Center for the Study of Women in Society)
  • 2011, University of Adelaide (Jackie Cook)